Shopping Smart(er): Week 2 Meals

Week 2

 

This week I made it my goal to use as much as I already had on hand as possible, but I also went ahead and picked up a few extras because Mr. Cooper’s check was a little larger than usual.  Just like last week, I planned out breakfast, lunch, and dinner (plus some snacks) for a full week and I only spent $42.  So, here is my meal plan for the last week!

Monday
Tuna Casserole- This was on my post from last week, but if we eat with family, that pushes my planned meals to the next day.  For this, I used cream of mushroom soup, some shredded cheddar I had on hand, tuna, and wide egg noodles. I actually had enough that I was able to freeze a sizable amount for later!

Tuesday
Cabbage & Kielbasa- I cut the kielbasa in half, 1/2 for this recipe, 1/2 for next week, then into smaller pieces along with some red skin potatoes, and the cabbage, of course.  I made a foil packet for the oven and stuffed it all in there, along with some garlic, salt, and onion powder.  I love cabbage, but hate that it makes my entire house smell like a port-a-potty.  You win some, you lose some.  The win here was that it was delicious and little to no clean-up!

Wednesday
Potatoes & cabbage- I got a huge head of cabbage for $2.50, so I used that bad boy until it was all gone.  I cooked some bacon in my wok, then used the bacon grease to fry the cabbage.  I also made some mashed potatoes and added some chives to them.  It was quick, it was easy, and it was also quite tasty!

Thursday
Breakfast- Growing up, breakfast for dinner was always one of my favorites.  The same is true of me as an adult!  I made some scrambled eggs, homemade buttermilk biscuits from my Paula Deen cookbook, bacon (leftover from my cabbage recipe on Wednesday!), and gravy.  I would’ve made some pancakes, but I was out of eggs and it’s been my goal to only make one trip to the store each week.  It was filling and dirt cheap.  Usually, I don’t even have to buy eggs because my Papaw raises chickens. Unfortunately, they have decided to stop laying at the most inconvenient time imaginable for me.

Friday
Parmesan noodles & chicken- I bought some generic Parmesan noodles that are basically instant for like .88 a package, and baked some chicken breasts in olive oil, salt, and pepper.  This was probably the easiest meal I’ve made in the two weeks that I’ve been doing this.

Saturday
Pork chops, baked potato, mac & cheese- I baked the pork chops in Terriyaki sauce and brown sugar (Mr. Cooper can’t stand sweet meat, but I lovelovelove it. He can get over himself, because those suckers were tender and delicious), threw the potatoes in the microwave the last 10 minutes of cooking, and the mac & cheese was homemade.  I can’t remember the last time I bought boxed macaroni and cheese.  It’s cheaper and it’s better to make it yourself, even if it involves buying a block of Velveeta instead of making it the old school way where you bake it and everything.

Sunday
We had our family Walking Dead night last night, so we ate with them. No cooking for me!

Breakfast
This week, I had oatmeal once again, and because Mr. Cooper was on 2nd shift, his breakfast was at lunch time, so he ate Ramen Noodles. I mean, college kids live off those things for a reason, right?

Lunch
I made the mister a huge batch of tuna salad for sandwiches for his lunch at work, but he also took lots of leftovers.  I opted for PB&J or grilled cheese because I work close enough to home that I can come home for my lunch hour.

Etc.
I made 2 loaves of homemade honey wheat bread for our lunch this week.  It took a while, but it involved giving the dough plenty of time to rest, so I was able to do other things in between.  While I was waiting for the dough to do its thing, I made the tuna salad I mentioned, supper for that night, a batch of Snickerdoodles (from scratch), and I caught up on Bones on Netflix.  I’ve continued to make my own coffee creamer as well, because I’m on Gilmore level when it comes to coffee drinking!


 

Shopping List

Meat
Chicken breasts
Kielbasa
Pork chops

Produce
Chives
Cabbage

Dairy
Velveeta
Milk
Sour Cream
Eggs

Baking
Brown sugar
Yeast
Shortening
Syrup
Evaporated milk
Jelly

Cans
Spanish rice
Taco seasoning
Cream of mushroom


 

Now that we’re on week 2 of spending as little as possible, I can’t for the life of me figure out how we were spending upwards of $200 a week for two people on groceries!  We’re saving money, I swear I think I’m losing weight because we haven’t been eating out for lunch or on the weekends (or at all, actually), and I’ve remembered how much I actually enjoy cooking and baking things from scratch.  I hope that this is helping you all.  As always, if you have any questions or want a recipe, let me know!

Til next time,
-A

 

Leave a Reply

